ماكوش نودلي (قطَم حلوة ببذور الخشخاش)

جوليا سيلفربيرج نمث

2 ساعات

6 - 8 وجبات

Blue and white plate with Hungarian dumplings tossed the poppyseeds

قطَم عجين حلوة

Blue and white plate with Hungarian dumplings tossed the poppyseeds
قطَم عجين حلوة

ترعرعت جوليا سيلفربيرج نمث في غابات مينيسوتا الشمالية. في أيام معينة من العام كانت تظهر على مائدة العائلة أطعمة وأطباق مميزة: كعك السوفجنيوت بمربى المشمش في الشتاء، قُطَم مصنوعة من عجينة البطاطا مغطاة ببذور الخشخاش وفتافيت الخبز والسكر الناعم في الربيع، وحساء دجاج ذهبي اللون تسبح فيه طابات من العجين في عشاءات يوم الجمعة. حضّرَت إيديت، أم جوليا، هذه الأطباق في مناسبات وأعياد يهودية كالحانوكا والبوريم وأيام السبت – لكن لا أحد أخبر جوليا بالأمر. 
احتفظت إيديت، ناجية من معسكر بيرجن بلزن، بهويتها سرًا، حتى من ابنتها التي عثرت بعد وفاتها على مغلف أصفر اللون كان بين أغراضها. “كأنها تركته مخصوص إلي  عشان ألاقيه”، تقول جوليا. احتوى المغلف على تصاريح تَحَرّر أمها من المعسكر إلى جانب مستندات أخرى تكشف هويتها اليهودية. شعرت جوليا أن هذه الأوراق حررتها من الأسرار والمخاوف التي اعتادت أن تأسرها في طفولتها – لتنطلق في رحلة في أعقاب جذور وتاريخ عائلتها. 
تقدم جوليا هذه الأطباق اليوم في كل المناسبات الاحتفالية مع ابنتها صوفيا. 
للمزيد عن جوليا وعائلتها أنظروا أرشيف Jewish Food Society

مكونات

  • لعجينة النودلي:
  • 4 أزرار بطاطا كبيرة
  • 1 بيضة كبيرة مخفوقة
  • 1 ملعقة كبيرة + 2 ملاعق صغيرة ملح
  • ½ ملعقة صغيرة مستخلص فانيليا 
  • ½1 كؤوس طحين + كمية إضافية لِرَّق العجين
  • لفتات الخبز:
  • 6 ملاعق كبيرة زبدة غير مملحة 
  • 1 كأس فتات خبز عادية
  • لبذور الخشخاش:
  • 1 كأس بذور خشخاش مطحونة ناعم
  • ¾ كأس سكر ناعم، منخول
  • 1 ملعقة صغيرة برش الليمون
  • للتقديم:
  • 1 ملعقة صغيرة سكر ناعم

طريقة التحضير:

  1. في قدر كبيرة نغمر أزرار البطاطا بالماء البارد ثم نضعها على نار عالية حتى تغلي. بعد الغليان، نخفض النار لنار متوسطة ونطبخ البطاطا حتى تصبح طرية تمامًا – حوالي 45 دقيقة. نصفّي البطاطا ونبرّدها حتى يكون من الممكن لمسها باليدين. 
  2. في هذه الأثناء نحضِّر فتات الخبز: نذوّب الزبدة في مقلاة واسعة على نار متوسطة. نضيف فتات الخبز ونقليها بينما نحركّها من وقت لآخر حتى يصبح لونها ذهبيًا. ننقل الفتات إلى طبق عازل للحرارة ونحتفظ بها جانبًا حتى الاستخدام. 
  3. لتحضير بذور الخشخاش: في زبدية نخلط فتات الخبز المحمّصة، بذور الخشخاش المطحونة، السكر الناعم، الليمون المبروش، ونتركها جانبًا حتى الاستخدام. 
  4. نملأ قدرًا كبيرًا بالماء حتى يبلغ نصف ارتفاعه. نضيف ملعقة ملح كبيرة ونغلي الماء على نار متوسطة – عالية. نغطي القِدر ونبقي الماء يغلي. 
  5. نقشر البطاطا المسلوقة ونبرشها في وعاء كبير بمساعدة المبرشة (أو نضعها في وعاء كبير ونهرسها بواسطة المرززة). نضيف البيض والملح والفانيليا والطحين ونخلط المكوّنات باليدين أو بملعقة خشبية حتى نحصل على عجينة متجانسة. نضع العجينة على سطح مغبّر بالطحين ونصنع منها كرة ثم نقسمها إلى قسمين متساويين. نمّد كل قطعة من العجين لتصبح على شكل أنبوب طويل قُطره ½2 سم. ونقطعه، بواسطة سكين حادة، لقُطَم صغيرة بطول ½2 سم. نضع نصف كمية القُطَم في قِدر الماء المغلي. عندما تطفو القطَم على السطح نطهوها لمدة دقيقة أخرى. باستخدام ملعقة مخرمة، ننقل القطم إلى وعاء خليط الخشخاش ونخلط برفق حتى تغطَّى جميعها بالخشخاش بشكل متساوٍ. نكرر العملية مع القطم المتبقية. 
  6. للتقديم: نرش السكر الناعم على القطم ثم نقدمها إلى جانب مربى البرقوق.

وصفات اخرى

Mákos Nudli (Sweet Hungarian Poppy Seed Pasta)

Julia Silverberg Nemeth

2 hours

6-8 servings

Photo by Jewish Food Sociery

Growing up in the northern woods of Minnesota, special dishes graced Julia Silverberg Nemeth’s family table at specific times of the year. In the winter, there were apricot-filled doughnuts called fánk, in the spring, her mother Edith made these potato dumplings topped with poppyseeds, breadcrumbs, and powdered sugar. And, on Friday nights, there were always bowls of golden hen soup with farina dumplings. The recipes nodded to Jewish holidays like Hanukkah, Purim, and Shabbat — but no one told Julia that. 

As a survivor of Bergen-Belsen, Edith kept her Jewish identity secret — even from her daughter. When Edith died, Julia found a small yellow envelope among her things. “It really felt like she’d left it there for me,” Julia explains. Tucked inside were her mother’s liberation papers from the concentration camp and other documents that revealed she was Jewish. To Julia, the papers felt like a liberation, from the secrets and fears she felt growing up. It set her on a path to explore her family’s history.

Today, she serves these recipes for holiday celebrations with her daughter Zsófia. In making and sharing them, Julia says, there is proof that the family survived. 

Learn more about Julia’s story on the Jewish Food Society archive and find her family recipe for apricot-filled doughnuts here and mákos nudli, or sweet poppyseed pasta, here.

Ingredients

  • For the nudli:
  • 4 medium Russet potatoes
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons salt, divided
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour, plus more
  • For the bread crumb topping:
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • For the poppy seed topping:
  • 1 cup finely pre-ground poppy seeds or poppy seeds finely grinded in a spice blender
  • ¾ cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • For garnish:
  • 1 tablespoon powdered sugar

Preparation

  1. Place the potatoes into a large pot and cover with cold water. Cook the pot over high heat and bring the water to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium low and cook the potatoes on a simmer until fork tender, about 45 minutes.
  2. In the meanwhile, make the bread crumb topping: Add the butter into a wide skillet over medium heat. Once the butter is melted, add the breadcrumbs and toast them until golden brown, stirring often. Once the breadcrumbs are golden brown transfer them onto a heatproof plate and set aside.
  3. Make the poppy seed topping: Place the ground poppy seeds, powdered sugar, lemon zest,  toasted breadcrumbs and powdered sugar in a bowl. Mix well until the mixture is combined. Set side. 
  4. Fill up a large pot halfway up with water. Add 1 tablespoon of salt and bring the water to a boil over medium high heat and place a lid to cover. Keep this water boiling on the stove.
  5. Once the potatoes are fork tender, drain them and let them cool enough so that you can easily handle them. Peel the potatoes and grate them into a large bowl or put the potatoes through a potato ricer. Place the grated or riced potatoes into a mixing bowl and add the eggs, salt, vanilla, and flour. Mix the ingredients with a wooden spoon or by hand until a dough is formed. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and use your hands to form a ball. Divide the dough into two piece and roll each piece into a long log that is about 1 inch thick. Use a sharp knife to cut each log crosswise into inch long pieces, these will be cooked into nudli. Drop half of the pieces of dough into the pot of boiling water. While the nudli cook they will rise to the surface. Continue cooking for 1 more minute and the nudli should be ready. Use a slotted spoon to scoop out the cooked nudli and place them into the bowl with the poppy seed and breadcrumbs mixture. Toss to evenly coat the nudli. Repeat cooking the remaining nudli and coating them in the poppy seed mixture.
  6. Serve hot with a light dusting of powdered sugar on top and prune jam on the side.

Related recipes