مسخّن

ندير ابو سيف

ساعه

4 اشخاص

تصوير: دور كدمي

دجاج مشويّ يقدّم على رغيف خبز عربيّ رقيق وواسع مغطّى بالبصل المفروم، السماق وزيت الزيتون بسخاء. تعلّمت الطاهية اليافاويّة ندير أبو سيف تحضير هذا الطبق من والدتها التي ترعرعت في الطيّبة، “الفلّاحون الذين يعيشون في القرى يحضّرون المسخّن طوال الوقت”. مثل المنسف البدويّ أو الصيّاديّة في يافا، المسخّن هو طعامهم اليوميّ.

تُضيف ندير أنّها تحبّ تقديم المسخّن إلى جانب صلصة تدعى ميش وتحتوي على لبن، فلفل وحلبة. تعترف ندير بأنّها تتجنّب استعمال خلطة البهارات في الطهي، وهي خلطة توابل نمطيّة لتحضير المسخّن، فبحسب أقوالها “تحتوي هذه الخلطة على توابل لست مستعدّة أن أدخلها إلى منزلي”. بدلًا من ذلك، تستعمل ندير البهار الحلو فقط (=فلفل إنجليزي مطحون). إضافة لذلك، هي شخصيًّا معتادة على إضافة بودرة الثوم، توابل الدجاج، فلفل حلو ومرقة دجاج.

لمزيد من وصفات ندير أبو سيف اضغطوا هنا

مكونات

  • للبصل:
  • 5 بصلات، مفرومات ناعمًا
  • 2/3 كوب (160 مل) من زيت الزيتون
  • ملح
  • فلفل أسود خشن وطازج
  • ملعقتان كبيرتان من السمّاق
  • للدجاج:
  • 2 افخاذ دجاج
  • ملح
  • فلفل أسود خشن وطازج
  • فلفل أسود خشن وطازج
  • 1 ½ ملعقة كبيرة من السمّاق
  • ½ معلقة صغيرة من الكمّون
  • ملعقة كبيرة من الفلفل الأحمر (بابريكا)
  • 4 فصوص ثوم مهروس
  • عصير من نصف حبّة ليمون
  • للتقديم:
  • 3 ارغفه طابون صغيره أو لفّات خبز شراك

طريقة التحضير:

  1. نسخّن زيت الزيتون في مقلاة على نار متوسّطة، ونضيف البصل المفروم. نقلي البصل إلى أن يصبح شفاف اللون (ليس ذهبيّا). نطفئ النار ونتبّله بالسمّاق، الملح وملعقة كبيرة من الفلفل الإنجليزي المطحون. نترك البصل في المقلاة.
  2. نحضّر الدجاج: في الوقت ذاته نضع افخاذ الدجاج في قدر، نغمره بالماء، نملّحه جيّدًا، نُضيف ¼ ملعقة كبيرة من الفلفل الإنجليزيّ المطحون وفلفل أسود ونتركه يغلي. نطهو لمدّة 3 دقائق ونطفئ النار. نُضيف ½ 1 أكواب من السائل الذي قمنا بطهيه إلى المقلاة التي بداخلها بصل، نطهو على لهبة متوسّطة إلى أن تتقلّص كمّية السوائل إلى النصف. نتخلّص من ما تبقّى من السوائل في قدر الدجاج.
  3. نشغّل الفرن على وضعيّة حرارة متوسّطة إلى عالية، على 200 درجة. ندهن سيقان الدجاج بزيت الزيتون ونتبّلها بسمّاق، كمّون، فلفل حلو، ثوم مفروم، عصير ليمون وملح ومن ثمّ نشويها في الفرن لمدّة 25 دقيقة.
  4. ندهن كلّ لفّة خبز بخليط البصل، نضعها فوق بعضها ونضع الدجاجة المشويّة فوقها. نُدخلها للفرن للتسخين لمدّة 10 دقائق، إلى أن تتحمّر جوانب الرغيف. نقدّم الطبق فور الانتهاء من تحضيره.

وصفات اخرى

Musakhan (Palestinian Chicken With Flatbread)

Nadir Abu-Seif

1 hour

4 servings

Photography: Dor Kedmi

Musakhan, or roast chicken served on a thin wide pita covered generously with chopped onion, sumac, and olive oil, is a quintessentially Palestinian dish. Jaffa-born cook Nadir Abu-Seif was taught this dish by her mother, who is originally from Taibeh. Nadir explains: “The peasants who live in the villages prepare musakhan all the time. Like the Bedouin’s mansaf, or Jaffa’s sayadieh, musakhan is their daily food.”

Nadir adds that she likes to serve musakhan alongside a sauce called mish made with yogurt, peppers and fenugreek. Nadir testifies that she refrains from cooking with baharat, a common spice mixture used in musakhan, because “it contains spices that I am not willing to bring into the house.” Hence, she uses bahar, or ground allspice. She also likes to add garlic powder, chicken seasoning, paprika, and bouillon powder.

Peer into Nadir Abu-Seif’s Jaffa kitchen.

Chicken

Ingredients

  • For the onions
  • 5 onions, finely chopped
  • 2/3 cup (160 ml) olive oil
  • Salt
  • ½ tablespoon ground allspice
  • 2 tablespoons sumac
  • For the chicken
  • 2 chicken leg quarters
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • ½ tablespoon ground allspice
  • 1½ tablespoon sumac
  • ½ teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 4 garlic cloves, crushed 
  • ½ lemon, juiced 
  • To serve
  • 3 taboon flatbreads

Preparation

  1. Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add the chopped onion and fry until the onion becomes translucent. Turn off the heat, season with sumac, salt, ground allspice and mix well. Leave the onion in the pan.
  2. Prepare the chicken: As the onions cook, place the chicken legs in a pot and cover with water. Add ¼ tablespoon ground allspice, season generously with salt and black pepper and bring to a boil. Cook for 3 minutes and turn off the heat. Add 1½ cups of the cooking liquid to the pan with the onion, and cook over a medium heat until the liquids are reduced by half. Discard the remaining cooking liquid in the chicken pot.
  3. Preheat the oven to 400°F / 200°C. Brush the chicken leg quarters with olive oil and season with sumac, cumin, paprika, crushed garlic, lemon juice and salt. Place into a small roasting pan that can fit the chicken. Roast in the oven 25 minutes.
  4. Spread each flatbread with the onion mixture, stack them on top of each other and place the roast chicken on top. Place in the oven for about 10 minutes, until the edges of the flatbreads are golden. Serve immediately.

Related recipes